The Floraverse #1: Walking in Two Worlds

Wab Kinew (Author)
Retail: $9.99
You Pay: $4.35
You Save 56%
In stock
Only 1 left
SKU
139062
Product Type: Paperback Books
Age Groups: Ages 13 to 15, Ages 16 to 18

An Indigenous teen girl is caught between two worlds, both real and virtual, in the YA fantasy debut from bestselling Indigenous author Wab Kinew. Perfect for fans of Ready Player One and the Otherworld series.

In the real world, Bugz is a shy and self-conscious Indigenous teen who faces the stresses of teenage angst and reserve life. But in the virtual world, her alter ego is not just confident but dominant in a massively multiplayer video game universe.

Feng is a teen boy who has been sent from China to live with his aunt, a doctor on the reserve, after his online activity suggests he may be developing extremist sympathies. Meeting each other in real life, as well as in the virtual world, Bugz and Feng immediately relate to each other as outsiders and as avid gamers. And as their connection is strengthened through their virtual adventures, they find that they have much in common in the real world, too: both must decide what to do in the face of temptations and pitfalls, and both must grapple with the impact of family and community trauma.

But betrayal threatens everything Bugz has built in the virtual world, as well as her relationships in the real world, and it will take all her newfound strength to restore her friendship with Feng and reconcile the parallel aspects of her life: the traditional and the mainstream, the east and the west, the real and the virtual.

More Information
SKU 139062
ISBN 9780735269026
Language English
Lexile ® Measure HL750L
Page Count 304
Product Type Paperback Books
Book Type Young Adult Novels
Primary Contributor Wab Kinew
Age Groups Ages 13 to 15, Ages 16 to 18
Publisher Tundra