The Lost Year: A Survival Story of the Ukrainian Famine

Katherine Marsh (Author)
Retail: $8.99
You Pay: $3.60
You Save 60%
In stock
Only 348 left
SKU
142410
Product Type: Paperback Books
Age Groups: Ages 10 to 12, Ages 13 to 15

From the author of Nowhere Boy comes a brilliant middle-grade survival story that traces a harrowing family secret back to the Holodomor, a terrible famine that devastated Soviet Ukraine in the 1930s.

Thirteen-year-old Matthew is miserable. His journalist dad is stuck overseas indefinitely, and his mom has moved in his one-hundred-year-old great-grandmother to ride out the pandemic, adding to his stress and isolation.

But when Matthew finds a tattered black-and-white photo in his great-grandmother's belongings, he discovers a clue to a hidden chapter of her past, one that will lead to a life-shattering family secret. Set in alternating timelines that connect the present-day to the 1930s and the US to the USSR, Katherine Marsh's latest novel sheds fresh light on the Holodomor—the horrific famine that killed millions of Ukrainians, and which the Soviet government covered up for decades.

An incredibly timely, page-turning story of family, survival, and sacrifice, inspired by Marsh's own family history, The Lost Year is perfect for fans of Ruta Sepetys' Between Shades of Gray and Alan Gratz's Refugee.

More Information
SKU 142410
ISBN 9781250909305
Language English
Lexile ® Measure 710L
Page Count 384
Product Type Paperback Books
Book Type Middle Grade Novels
Primary Contributor Katherine Marsh
Age Groups Ages 10 to 12, Ages 13 to 15
Publisher Square Fish