Swim Team

Johnnie Christmas (Author & Illustrator)
Retail: $15.99
You Pay: $5.35
You Save 67%
In stock
Only 757 left
SKU
133832
Product Type: Paperback Books
Age Groups: Ages 7 to 9, Ages 10 to 12

Perfect for fans of Jerry Craft and Kwame Alexander, this splashy, contemporary middle grade graphic novel debut from cartoonist Johnnie Christmas follows young Bree as she faces her fear of swimming head-on while at the same time confronting the long-standing barriers of systemic racism set within the public pool system.

Bree can’t wait for her first day at her new middle school, Enith Brigitha, home to the Mighty Manatees—until she’s stuck with the only elective that fits her schedule, the dreaded Swim 101.

The thought of swimming makes Bree more than a little queasy, yet she's forced to dive headfirst into one of her greatest fears. Lucky for her, Etta, an elderly occupant of her apartment building and former swim team captain, is willing to help.

With Etta’s training and a lot of hard work, Bree suddenly finds her swim-crazed community counting on her to turn the school’s failing team around. But that’s easier said than done, especially when their rival, the prestigious Holyoke Prep, has everything they need to leave the Mighty Manatees in their wake.

In this middle grade graphic novel debut, Johnnie Christmas demonstrates how—through friendship, courage, and heart—the wave of change can start with the smallest ripple.

More Information
SKU 133832
ISBN 9780063056763
Language English
Page Count 256
Product Type Paperback Books
Book Type Graphic Novels & Comics
Primary Contributor Johnnie Christmas
Age Groups Ages 7 to 9, Ages 10 to 12
Publisher HarperAlley