Of Mermaids and Orisha #1: Skin of the Sea

Natasha Bowen (Author)
Retail: $18.99
You Pay: $3.00
You Save 84%
In stock
Only 185 left
SKU
141222
Product Type: Hardcover Books
Age Groups: Ages 16 to 18

This book is a remainder. It is brand new and unread but the cover may have stickers from other retailers or a small line or dot on the outside, indicating that the book was returned unsold from a store to the publisher and sold to us from a remainder list. Remainder opportunities allow us to make terrific titles available to you at especially deep discounts, increasing our ability to provide a wide array of books at the lowest possible cost.

The first book in this must-read Black mermaid fantasy series, in which one mermaid takes on the gods themselves. Perfect for fans of Children of Blood and Bone and anyone who loved the live-action The Little Mermaid.

A way to survive.
A way to serve.
A way to save.

Simi prayed to the gods, once. Now she serves them as Mami Wata—a mermaid—collecting the souls of those who die at sea and blessing their journeys back home.

But when a living boy is thrown overboard, Simi goes against an ancient decree and does the unthinkable—she saves his life. And punishment awaits those who dare to defy the gods.

To protect the other Mami Wata, Simi must journey to the Supreme Creator to make amends. But all is not as it seems. There's the boy she rescued, who knows more than he should. And something is shadowing Simi, something that would rather see her fail...

Danger lurks at every turn, and as Simi draws closer, she must brave vengeful gods, treacherous lands, and legendary creatures. Because if she fails, she risks not only the fate of all Mami Wata, but also the world as she knows it.

More Information
SKU 141222
ISBN 9780593120941
Language English
Lexile ® Measure 860L
Page Count 336
Product Type Hardcover Books
Book Type Young Adult Novels
Primary Contributor Natasha Bowen
Age Groups Ages 16 to 18
Publisher Random House Books for Young Readers