Marisol Rainey #3: Only Only Marisol Rainey

Erin Entrada Kelly (Author & Illustrator)
Retail: $18.99
You Pay: $6.10
You Save 68%
In stock
Only 235 left
SKU
138916
Product Type: Hardcover Books
Age Groups: Ages 7 to 9

When a neighbor’s big, scary dog goes missing, it seems like only Marisol is worried he’s up to no good. But is there more to this lost dog story than meets the eye? From Newbery Medal– and Honor–winning author Erin Entrada Kelly, Only Only Marisol Rainey is a highly illustrated young middle-grade novel about friendship, facing your fears, and the power of compassion, friendship, and empathy. This stand-alone companion to Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey and Surely Surely Marisol Rainey is perfect for fans of Ivy + Bean, Merci Suárez, and Ramona. Features black-and-white art throughout by Erin Entrada Kelly.

A dangerous beast is on the loose in Marisol Rainey's neighborhood! At least, Marisol thinks it’s a dangerous beast. She's never actually met the neighbor’s dog officially, but surely a big German shepherd can’t be anything else. That’s why she and her BFF Jada nicknamed him “Daggers.”

When the Missing Dog posters around town reveal his real name is Gregory, Marisol's fears don’t ease up one bit. He may be Gregory at home, but when he’s freely roaming the neighborhood with nothing to hold him back, he’s Daggers and nothing else.

When she tries to sleep, the image of Daggers and his sharp teeth comes to mind. Marisol doesn't even want to ride her bike anymore. What if Daggers leaps out of the bushes, knocks her over, and eats her? She feels like she can’t rest until she knows Daggers has been returned to her neighbor’s backyard. Strangely, no one else seems all that concerned for their safety. Only Marisol.

Is Daggers big and super scary looking? Maybe. Is Marisol afraid? Surely. Will she eventually learn that there’s more to Daggers than meets the eye? Only if she faces her fears.

Only Only Marisol Rainey is told in short chapters with illustrations by the author on almost every page. Erin Entrada Kelly’s stand-alone companion to Maybe Maybe Marisol Rainey and Surely Surely Marisol Rainey celebrates the small but mighty Marisol, the joys of friendship, the power of compassion, and the triumph of persevering. For readers of Kevin Henkes, Andrew Clements, Judy Blume, and Beverly Cleary.

More Information
SKU 138916
ISBN 9780062970480
Language English
Page Count 160
Product Type Hardcover Books
Book Type Chapter Books
Primary Contributor Erin Entrada Kelly
Age Groups Ages 7 to 9
Publisher Greenwillow Books