Moonwalking

Zetta Elliott (Author) Lyn Miller-Lachmann (Author)
Retail: $8.99
You Pay: $3.60
You Save 60%
In stock
Only 356 left
SKU
135800
Product Type: Paperback Books
Age Groups: Ages 10 to 12, Ages 13 to 15

For fans of Jason Reynolds and Jacqueline Woodson, here is a middle-grade story in verse about a white autistic boy and an Afro-Latinx kid as they become friends for a season in 1980s Brooklyn.

Punk rock–loving JJ Pankowski can't seem to fit in at his new school in Greenpoint, Brooklyn, as one of the only white kids. Pie Velez, a math and history geek by day and graffiti artist by night, is eager to follow in his idol Jean-Michel Basquiat's footsteps. The boys stumble into an unlikely friendship, swapping notes on their love of music and art, which sees them through a difficult semester at school and at home. But a run-in with the cops threatens to unravel it all.

Moonwalking is a stunning exploration of class, cross-racial friendships, and two boys' search for belonging in a city that is as tumultuous and beautiful as their hearts.

More Information
SKU 135800
ISBN 9781250866516
Language English
Lexile ® Measure NP
Page Count 224
Product Type Paperback Books
Book Type Middle Grade Novels
Additional Contributor Lyn Miller-Lachmann
Primary Contributor Zetta Elliott
Age Groups Ages 10 to 12, Ages 13 to 15
Publisher Square Fish