Lolo's Light

Liz Garton Scanlon (Author)
Retail: $16.99
You Pay: $7.30
You Save 57%
In stock
Only 504 left
SKU
137879
Product Type: Hardcover Books
Age Groups: Ages 10 to 12, Ages 13 to 15

For readers who love The Thing About Jellyfish and Counting By 7s, Lolo's Light is a deeply honest middle grade novel about grief, redemption, and life as a kid facing both.

This is a truth about growing up: Once in your life, sometime after your first memory but before you can drive a car, something is going to happen to you that doesn't happen to anyone else you know. It might be something good. It might be something bad, or special, or funny, or shocking. For Millie, it's something really sad. Lolo, her neighbors' infant daughter, dies unexpectedly, suddenly, inexplicably, on the night Millie babysits.

It's not Millie's fault. There's nothing she could have done. And there's nothing she can do now.

So how does she go on?

She does what you'll do. She finds her way.

This poignant and profound coming-of-age story portrays a tragic experience of responsibility and its poisonous flip side: guilt. Emotional and important, this is an honest and empathetic portrait of a girl at her most vulnerable—a mess of grief, love, and ultimately, acceptance—who must reckon with those most difficult of demons: death...and life.

More Information
SKU 137879
ISBN 9781797212944
Language English
Lexile ® Measure 820L
Guided Reading Level Y
Page Count 232
Product Type Hardcover Books
Book Type Middle Grade Novels
Primary Contributor Liz Garton Scanlon
Age Groups Ages 10 to 12, Ages 13 to 15
Publisher Chronicle Books