Just Happy to Be Here

Naomi Kanakia (Author)
Retail: $19.99
You Pay: $6.35
You Save 68%
In stock
Only 280 left
SKU
142023
Product Type: Hardcover Books
Age Groups: Ages 16 to 18

The first out trans girl at an all-girls school must choose between keeping her head down or blazing a trail in this YA standalone perfect for fans of Tobly McSmith and Meredith Russo.

Tara just wants to be treated like any other girl at Ainsley Academy.

That is, judged on her merits—not on her transness. But there’s no road map for being the first trans girl at an all-girls school. And when she tries to join the Sibyls, an old-fashioned Ainsley sisterhood complete with code names and special privileges, she’s thrust into the center of a larger argument about what girlhood means and whether the club should exist at all.

Being the figurehead of a movement isn’t something Tara’s interested in. She’d rather read old speeches and hang out with the Sibyls who are on her side—especially Felicity, a new friend she thinks could turn into something more. Then the club’s sponsor, a famous alumna, attacks her in the media and turns the selection process into a spectacle.

Tara’s always found comfort in the power of other peoples’ words. But when it comes time to fight for herself, will she be able to find her own voice?

More Information
SKU 142023
ISBN 9780063216570
Language English
Page Count 320
Product Type Hardcover Books
Book Type Young Adult Novels
Primary Contributor Naomi Kanakia
Age Groups Ages 16 to 18
Publisher HarperTeen