How the Boogeyman Became a Poet

Tony Keith Jr. (Author)
Retail: $19.99
You Pay: $6.35
You Save 68%
In stock
Only 179 left
SKU
142015
Product Type: Hardcover Books
Age Groups: Ages 16 to 18

Poet, writer, and hip-hop educator Tony Keith Jr. makes his debut with a powerful YA memoir in verse, tracing his journey from being a closeted gay Black teen battling poverty, racism, and homophobia to becoming an openly gay first-generation college student who finds freedom in poetry. Perfect for fans of Elizabeth Acevedo, George M. Johnson, and Jacqueline Woodson.

I’m terrified that the Boogeyman is gonna hear

what I’ve been thinking about certain boys

and what happens to my heartbeat when I’m around some of them.

Tony dreams about life after high school, where his poetic voice can find freedom on the stage and page. But the Boogeyman has been following Tony since he was six years old. First, the Boogeyman was after his Blackness, but Tony has learned It knows more than that: Tony wants to be the first in his family to attend college, but there’s no path to follow. He also has feelings for boys, desires that don’t align with the script he thinks is set for him and his girlfriend, Blu.

Despite a supportive network of family and friends, Tony doesn’t breathe a word to anyone about his feelings. As he grapples with his sexuality and moves from high school to college, he struggles with loneliness while finding occasional solace in gay chat rooms and writing poetry. But how do you find your poetic voice when you are hiding the most important parts of yourself? And how do you escape the Boogeyman when it's lurking inside you?

More Information
SKU 142015
ISBN 9780063296008
Language English
Page Count 352
Product Type Hardcover Books
Book Type Young Adult Nonfiction
Primary Contributor Tony Keith Jr.
Age Groups Ages 16 to 18
Publisher Katherine Tegen Books