Dough Boys

Dough Boys (Author)
Retail: $9.99
You Pay: $3.85
You Save 61%
In stock
Only 4 left
SKU
122702
Product Type: Paperback Books
Age Groups: Ages 10 to 12, Ages 13 to 15

In the companion to her acclaimed middle-grade debut, So Done, Paula Chase explores universal themes of friendship and budding romance, while also exploring complex issues that affect many young teens. Full of basketball, friendship, and daily life in a housing project, this universal story is perfect for fans of Jason Reynolds's Track series, Jewell Parker Rhodes's Ghost Boys, and Kwame Alexander's Solo.

Deontae "Simp" Wright has big plans for his future. Plans that involve basketball, his best friend, Rollie, and making enough money to get his mom and four younger brothers out of the Cove, their low-income housing project. Long term, this means the NBA. Short term, it means being a dough boy—getting paid to play lookout and eventually moving up the rungs of the neighborhood drug operation with Rollie as his partner.

Rolland "Rollie" Matthews used to love playing basketball. He loved the rhythm of the game; it's how he came up with his best drumbeats after running up and down the court. But playing with the elite team comes with extra, illegal responsibilities, and Rollie isn't sure he's down for that life. The new talented-and-gifted program, where Rollie has a chance to audition for a real-life go-go band, seems like the perfect excuse to stop being a dough boy. But how can he abandon his best friend?

More Information
SKU 122702
ISBN 9780062691828
Language English
Lexile ® Measure HL700L
Page Count 352
Product Type Paperback Books
Book Type Middle Grade Novels
Primary Contributor Dough Boys
Age Groups Ages 10 to 12, Ages 13 to 15
Publisher Greenwillow Books