Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets: A Muslim Book of Shapes

Hena Khan (Author) Mehrdokht Amini (Illustrator)
Retail: $7.99
You Pay: $4.15
You Save 48%
Out of stock
SKU
130667
Product Type: Paperback Books
Age Groups: Ages 4 to 6, Ages 7 to 9

Magnificently capturing the shapes of Islam, this acclaimed book that inspired curiosity and conversations about world religions and cultures is now available in paperback.

From a crescent moon to a square garden to an octagonal fountain, this breathtaking picture book celebrates the shapes—and traditions—of the Muslim world. With stunning illustrations, a rhyming read-aloud text, and strong backmatter, Crescent Moons and Pointed Minarets will inspire questions and observations about world religions and cultures, and is equally at home in a classroom reading circle as it is being read to a child on a parent's lap.

  • A BOOK ABOUT MUSLIM CULTURE, CREATED BY MUSLIMS: There is a desperate need for books about diverse cultures, created by people originating from that culture, including books about Islam and contemporary Muslim life. Both the writer and illustrator identify as Muslim: The illustrator is Iranian and lives in London, while the writer is Pakistani American and lives in Rockville, Maryland.
  • COMPELLING AUTHOR: Hena Khan is a dynamic, charismatic speaker, who does 40 school, community center, and mosque visits a year, and regularly sells out spaces that hold 300+ people. She is active in her local Muslim community as well as the larger Muslim writing community, regularly speaking on panels and attending conferences.
  • AWARD-WINNING ILLUSTRATOR: Mehrdokht Amini received the 2016 Children's Africana Book Award for her book Chicken in the Kitchen and has been nominated for the prestigious Kate Greenaway medal.
  • AN EFFECTIVE WAY TO COUNTER ANTI-MUSLIM BULLYING: There is nothing like reading books to understand another culture and increase understanding and empathy.

Perfect for:

  • Teachers and librarians
  • Families looking for books that reflect their faith and identity
  • Families who want to introduce Islam or other cultures to children
  • Fans of Golden Domes and Silver Lanterns, Night of the Moon, and/or Hena Khan and Mehrdokht Amini;s other publishing
  • Anyone looking for #ownvoices and #WNDB

More Information
SKU 130667
ISBN 9781452182742
Language English
Lexile ® Measure AD600L
Guided Reading Level M
Page Count 36
Product Type Paperback Books
Book Type Picture Books
Additional Contributor Mehrdokht Amini
Primary Contributor Hena Khan
Age Groups Ages 4 to 6, Ages 7 to 9
Publisher Chronicle Books