A Seed in the Sun

Aida Salazar (Author)
Retail: $8.99
You Pay: $4.05
You Save 55%
In stock
Only 500 left
SKU
142808
Product Type: Paperback Books
Age Groups: Ages 7 to 9, Ages 10 to 12

A farm-working girl with big dreams meets activist Dolores Huerta and joins the 1965 protest for workers’ rights in this tender-hearted novel in verse, perfect for fans of Rita Williams-Garcia and Pam Muñoz Ryan.

Lula Viramontes aches to one day become someone whom no one can ignore: a daring ringleader in a Mexican traveling circus. But between working the grape harvest in Delano, California, with her older siblings under dangerous conditions; taking care of her younger siblings and Mamá, who has mysteriously fallen ill; and doing everything she can to avoid Papá’s volatile temper, it’s hard to hold on to those dreams.

Then she meets Dolores Huerta, Larry Itliong, and other labor rights activists and realizes she may need to raise her voice sooner rather than later: Farmworkers are striking for better treatment and wages, and whether Lula’s family joins them or not will determine their future.

More Information
SKU 142808
ISBN 9780593406625
Language English
Lexile ® Measure NP
Page Count 272
Product Type Paperback Books
Book Type Middle Grade Novels
Primary Contributor Aida Salazar
Age Groups Ages 7 to 9, Ages 10 to 12
Publisher Dial Books for Young Readers